Opportunity

image

There are often moments in which we decide to define ourselves as individuals. Every individual creates characteristics that allow them to accomplish certain tasks. We subconsciously seek the personal approval of what we decide. I believe this to be a life long endeavor, which requires a sense of confidence that many of us lack. Fear often propels action. Whether that be for better or for worse, it allows us to feel motivated to be or do something. I can relate many times in my own existence where I found myself afraid. Scared of what was in front of me of or frightened by what outcome may be. I look back with apathy but what is to be learned from these experiences?

I regularly find myself pondering these decisions and asking that question. What have I learned about myself? Which direction did this decision take me? Was it positive or negative?

Contrary to popular belief, I don’t “regret” certain decisions that may have been detrimental to my life. I keep the perspective of seeing value and knowledge in all that may occur. We all have eyes but our vision varies from individual to individual. We will process information differently and we will also apply that knowledge in different ways. My point in this is that we should not allow fear to control the outcome of our decisions. There are too many opportunities and chances that arise in our path that we fear. These vary from occupation change, culture change, or even relationship change. Our fear will impede us from making these decisions to change. The older generation is scared of change and their influence can often play a part in our decision-making. As a part of the younger generation, I want to push the notion that we be a people of change. Life can be cut short and that is something we cannot control but if we harness the opportunities that are placed in our path, we have the ability to make a difference. Most importantly, we will have the ability to be ourselves and be happy.

Take a chance… say yes… find ways to be yourself… and be happy.

“Courage is grace under pressure.” Ernest Hemingway

Published by

Jace Hansen

"I believe that all roads lead to the same place - and that is wherever all roads lead to."

Leave a comment